Navigation menu


Unique, innovative, always in touch with the times

The involvement of the Städelkomitee leaves lasting marks. Because as a member of this body, you inscribe your name in the history of the Städel Museum collection

Sylvia von Metzler, chair of the Städelscher Museums-Verein

The members of the Städelkomitee belong to a select circle of private persons who enable targeted purchases of important works of contemporary art for the museum. In that way, they ensure the perpetuity and continual further development of the Städel collection.

By joining this committee—the only one of its kind in Germany—you provide indispensable financial support, but also gain special insights into the strategic development of the museum collection. To keep an eye on developments and discuss works, we visit artists’ studios and galleries and travel together to art biennials, important art fairs and more. In the process, we also gain impulses for our private collections.

Thanks to the substantial annual donations of this special circle of friends, more than 160 prominent works of contemporary art (1945 to the present) have been purchased for the Städel collection since 2007, when the committee was founded—works by Hans Hofmann, Philip Guston, Konrad Klapheck, Isa Genzken, Markus Lüpertz, Arnulf Rainer, Julian Schnabel, Erwin Wurm, Daniel Richter, Amelie von Wulffen, Wolfgang Tillmans, Frank Stella and many others.

The generous dedication of the committee members represents a decisive contribution to the museum’s ongoing development and its capacity to share the power of art with visitors from all over the world.

The people who belong to this circle share a special passion for the art of the present, close ties to the Städel and a strong sense of civic responsibility. We are deeply indebted to them for their exceptional dedication.

Philipp Demandt, Director of the Städel Museums


You’d like to learn more?
I look forward to talking to you.

Sponsors & Partners

We thank you for your special dedication as a patron!

Members of the Städelkomitee

Maria-Theresia Artmann
Michael Baum
Marco and Dr. Helen Brockhaus
Kilian Bumiller
Jürgen H. and Antje Conzelmann
Dr. Oliver Dany
Michael Denk und Natascha Gehrke-Denk
Dr. Andreas Dombret
Dr. Andreas Fabritius and Dr. Chiara Zilioli Fabritius
Ursula Felten
Florian and Maria Fenner
Michael Fuchs
Jan-Hendrik and Friederike Goldbeck
Hans T. and Jutta Gonder
Claudia Varvelli and Jürgen Gross
Dr. Hans-Christian and Ina Hauck
Philip Holzer
Christopher and Stefanie von Hugo
Helene and Johannes Huth
Gabriela and Stefan Jaecker
Dr. Matthias Jaletzke
Thomas Jetter
Roswitha Keppler Junius
Dr. Elke Göttmann and Dr. Johannes Kremer
Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff
Ralf and Kathrin Lochmüller
Fritz P. Mayer
Sylvia von Metzler
Dr. Petra and Stephen Orenstein
Dr. Ana and Reinfried Pohl
Dr. Hans-Jürgen and Monika Reichardt
Martin and Charlotte Reitz
Dr. Helmut Rothenberger
Christine and Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schmidt
Julie Burgermeister-Schmitz and Jan Philipp Schmitz
Boris and Katrin Schran
Dr. Diana and Dr. Peter Sewing
Sonja Terraneo and Philip F. W. Harting 
Tanja and Harry Thomsen
Thomas Ullrich
Eberhard and Sabine Weiershäuser
Christian and Monika Zorn