Air
Conditioned

Graduate Exhibition of the Städelschule 2019

20 June to 14 July 2019

Once again, the Städel Museum presented the graduates’ exhibition of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule. Entitled “Air Conditioned”, the show featured artworks in various mediums and disciplines – among them painting, sculpture, installation and video – by altogether twenty graduates.

Air conditioning in the museum is omnipresent – invisible, neutral in taste and well-tempered, a formal and essential characteristic of a venue for the exhibition of objects. It regulates the temperature and humidity to extend the artworks’ longevity. The interiors seem to elude the changes brought about by the weather, even the course of time itself. The graduates’ exhibition “Air Conditioned” was bound to these common climatic conditions and thus called attention to the underlying structures: just as an institution controls its rooms climatically, it also controlled the subjects that moved within those rooms.

In 1966–67, the artists’ group Art & Language staged the important exhibition “The Air-Conditioning Show”, in which empty gallery walls and an air-conditioning unit exposed the internal mechanisms of an institution. With a full awareness of that show, the Städel graduates presented works that take a stance on the mechanisms of art production. Within the context of the all-pervasive late capitalism, however, they cannot escape the institutional conditions or the silent impacts of the status quo. On the contrary, their works – like the air itself – are a composition of all those elements.

The participating artists were Immanuel Birkert, Xenia Bond, Jakob Brugge, Harry Chapman, Olivia Coran, Edi Danartono, Onur Gökmen, Siri Hagberg, Stian Hansen, Helena Hasson, K-K, Valentina Knežević, Niwat Manatpiyalert, José Montealegre, Ivan Murzin, Max Negrelli, François Pisapia, Sóley Ragnarsdóttir, Kristin Reiman and Julian Tromp.

The graduates studied in the classes of Monika Baer, Gerard Byrne, Peter Fischli, Nikolas Gambaroff, Douglas Gordon, Judith Hopf, Hassan Khan, Laure Prouvost, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Amy Sillman, Wu Tsang and Haegue Yang.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Air Conditioned

Absolventenausstellung der Städelschule 2019

20. Juni bis 14.Juli 2019

Das Städel Museum präsentierte erneut die Absolventenausstellung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule. Zu sehen waren Werke in verschiedenen Medien und Disziplinen, darunter Malerei, Skulptur, Installation und Video von insgesamt 20 Absolventinnen und Absolventen.

Klimakonditionierung im Museum ist allgegenwärtig – unsichtbar, geschmacksneutral und wohltemperiert – eine formale und essentielle Eigenschaft eines Ausstellungsortes von Exponaten. Temperatur und Feuchtigkeit werden reguliert, um die Lebensdauer von Kunstwerken zu verlängern. Die Räumlichkeiten scheinen sich dem Lauf der Zeit und jeglichen Veränderungen bedingt durch das Wetter zu entziehen. Die Absolventenausstellung „Air Conditioned“ war an diese gemeinsamen Bedingungen des Klimas gebunden und zeigte somit die zugrundeliegenden Strukturen auf: So wie eine Institution ihre Räume klimatisch kontrolliert, konditionierte sie auch die Subjekte, die sich darin bewegen.

Im Bewusstsein der bedeutenden Ausstellung „The Air-Conditioning Show“ (1966-67) der Künstlergruppe Art & Language – in der leere Galeriewände und eine Klimaanlage die internen Mechanismen einer Institution offenlegten – positionierten sich die Arbeiten der Absolventinnen und Absolventen in Bezug auf die Mechanismen der Kunstproduktion. Im Kontext des alles durchdringenden Spätkapitalismus können sie sich jedoch den institutionellen Bedingungen oder den stillschweigenden Auswirkungen des Status quo nicht entziehen. Vielmehr sind ihre Werke, wie die Luft selbst, eine Komposition all dieser Elemente.

Die teilnehmenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler waren Immanuel Birkert, Xenia Bond, Jakob Brugge, Harry Chapman, Olivia Coran, Edi Danartono, Onur Gökmen, Siri Hagberg, Stian Hansen, Helena Hasson, K-K, Valentina Knežević, Niwat Manatpiyalert, José Montealegre, Ivan Murzin, Max Negrelli, François Pisapia, Sóley Ragnarsdóttir, Kristin Reiman und Julian Tromp.

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen studierten in den Klassen von Monika Baer, Gerard Byrne, Peter Fischli, Nikolas Gambaroff, Douglas Gordon, Judith Hopf, Hassan Khan, Laure Prouvost, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Amy Sillman, Wu Tsang und Haegue Yang.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.