Navigation menu

Golden Times?
Art and Society in Rembrandt’s Amsterdam

27 Nov 2024–23 Mar 2025

Amsterdam—one city with many faces. Amsterdam was the metropolis in Europe during the 17th century. The economy and trade were booming, the population rapidly increased, and the arts and sciences flourished. An influential civic society shaped the city’s fortunes, captured in important paintings by the greatest Dutch masters. First and foremost was Rembrandt Harmensz. van Rijn, but the artists Jakob Backer, Ferdinand Bol, Govert Flinck, Bartholomeus van der Helst and Jan Victors also reflect urban society’s self-image in Amsterdam group portraits.

About the Exhibition

The Städel Museum presents the exceptional portrait art of Rembrandt and his contemporaries in a large exhibition, bringing together some 100 paintings, sculptures and prints, as well as cultural and historical objects from leading Dutch and international museums. The starting point is an impressive collection of group portraits from the Amsterdam Museum, enhanced by outstanding works from the Städel Museum and the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, as well as the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. and the National Museum in Warsaw.

Berchem, Nicolaes (ca. 1620–1683)
Allegory of the Expansion of Amsterdam, 1653–1673

Govaert Flinck (1615–1660)
Wijk 1 of the Voetboog Riflemen under Captain Joan Huydecoper and Lieutenant Frans van Waveren, ca. 1648–1650

Johannes Lingelbach (ca. 1622–1674)
The Dam, seen from the south, with the town hall under construction, 1656

Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn (1606–1669)
Anatomy lesson of Dr. Jan Deijman (fragment), 1656

Paintings from the period known as “The Golden Age” in the Netherlands are critically questioned here because this economic and cultural flowering in the 17th century was based on an aggressive trade policy of the Dutch Republic, whose foundations were built on the establishment of colonies in Asia and South America and the enslavement and exploitation of people. Wars, poverty, and religious and political persecution in Europe provided a steadily growing migration to the Dutch Republic, particularly to Amsterdam. A strong job market and general religious tolerance gave many people hope for a better and freer life, which many, but by no means everyone, succeeded in achieving. Above all, Amsterdam’s urban elite has been intensively portrayed: Members of the marksmen’s guilds and “regents”, heads of social institutions supported by civil society. The exhibition shows these official and prestigious paintings while simultaneously casting its view onto how members of other social groups are represented. They are images and histories of a pluralistic Amsterdam society, which tell of wealth and inequality, fortune and ruin, power and powerlessness—narrated through an exhibition.

Curator
Prof. Dr Jochen Sander (Deputy Director and Head of German, Dutch and Flemish Paintings before 1800, Städel Museum)

Sponsors

Sponsored by
ING Deutschland, Städelscher Museums-Verein e.V.

Additional support
Dagmar Westberg Stiftung, Fontana Stiftung

Support Your
Städel Museum Now

Navigation menu

Goldene Zeiten?
Kunst und Gesellschaft in Rembrandts Amsterdam

27.11.2024–23.3.2025

Amsterdam – eine Stadt, viele Gesichter. Im 17. Jahrhundert ist Amsterdam die Metropole Europas. Wirtschaft und Handel boomen, die Bevölkerung wächst rasant, Kunst und Wissenschaft florieren. Eine einflussreiche Bürgerschaft prägt die Geschicke der Stadt, festgehalten in bedeutenden Gemälden der größten niederländischen Meister. Allen voran Rembrandt Harmensz. van Rijn, aber auch die Künstler Jakob Backer, Ferdinand Bol, Govert Flinck, Bartholomeus van der Helst oder Jan Victors spiegeln in den Amsterdamer Gruppenbildnissen das Selbstverständnis der Stadtgesellschaft.

Über die Ausstellung

Das Städel Museum präsentiert die herausragende Bildniskunst Rembrandts und seiner Zeitgenossen in einer großen Ausstellung und vereint rund 100 Gemälde, Skulpturen und Druckgrafiken sowie kulturhistorische Gebrauchsgegenstände aus führenden niederländischen und internationalen Museen. Den Ausgangspunkt bildet der eindrückliche Bestand von Gruppenbildnissen aus dem Amsterdam Museum, der durch herausragende Werke des Städel Museums und des Rijksmuseums in Amsterdam sowie des Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, der Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, der National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. oder des Nationalmuseums in Warschau ergänzt wird.

Berchem, Nicolaes (ca. 1620–1683)
Allegorie auf die Stadterweiterung von Amsterdam, 1653–1673

Govaert Flinck (1615–1660)
Wijk 1 der Voetboog-Schützen unter Hauptmann Joan Huydecoper und Leutnant Frans van Waveren, ca. 1648 – 1650

Johannes Lingelbach (ca. 1622–1674)
Der Dam, von Süden hergesehen, mit dem in Bau befindlichen Rathaus, 1656

Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn (1606–1669)
Anatomische les van Dr. Jan Deijman (Fragment), 1656

Die Malerei des sogenannten „Goldenen Zeitalters“ in den Niederlanden wird dabei kritisch hinterfragt, denn die wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Blüte im 17. Jahrhundert beruhte auf einer aggressiven Handelspolitik der Vereinigten Niederlande, deren Grundlage der Aufbau von Kolonien in Asien und Südamerika und die Versklavung und Ausbeutung von Menschen war. Kriege, Armut sowie religiöse und politische Verfolgung in Europa sorgten für eine stetig wachsende Migration in die Republik, insbesondere nach Amsterdam. Ein starker Arbeitsmarkt und eine relative religiöse Toleranz ließen viele auf ein besseres und freieres Leben hoffen, was vielen, aber beileibe nicht allen gelang. Es ist vor allem die städtische Elite Amsterdams, die sich aufwendig ins Bild setzen ließ: Angehörige der Schützengilden und sogenannte „Regenten“, Vorsteher der von der Bürgergesellschaft getragenen sozialen Einrichtungen. Die Ausstellung zeigt diese Repräsentationsgemälde und öffnet den Blick zugleich auf Darstellungen von Angehörigen anderer gesellschaftlicher Gruppen. Es sind Bilder und Geschichten einer pluralen Amsterdamer Gesellschaft, die von Reichtum und Ungleichheit, Glück und Verderben, Macht und Ohnmacht berichten – erzählt in einer Ausstellung.

Kurator
Prof. Dr. Jochen Sander (Stellvertretender Direktor und Sammlungsleiter Holländische, Flämische und Deutsche Malerei vor 1800, Städel Museum)

Förderer

Gefördert durch
ING Deutschland, Städelscher Museums-Verein e.V.

Mit weiterer Unterstützung durch
Dagmar Westberg Stiftung, Fontana Stiftung

Newsletter

Wer ihn hat,
hat mehr vom Städel.

Aktuelle Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen, digitale Angebote oder Städel Stories. Mit dem Städel Newsletter kommen die neuesten Informationen regelmäßig direkt in Ihr Postfach.

Unterstützen Sie
das Städel Museum