Lotte
Laserstein

9/19/2018–3/17/2019

Face to Face

Lotte Laserstein first made a name for herself in the thriving art scene of the Weimar era. Her career came to an abrupt halt in 1937 when she was forced to flee Germany for Sweden, where she fell into oblivion. The aim of this exhibition is to put Laserstein’s œuvre back in the spotlight.

Exhibition

About the exhibition

The Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main presents a comprehensive solo exhibition with works by the painter Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993). Laserstein’s oeuvre is one of the great recent art historical rediscoveries and features sensitive and compelling portraits from the final years of the Weimar Republic. The exhibition builds upon works from the collection of the Städel Museum, which in the past few years was successful in acquiring important works by the artist, including the paintings “Russian Girl with Compact” from 1928 and “Boy with Kasper Puppet (Wolfgang Karger)” from 1933. With approximately forty paintings and drawings, the exhibition focusses on Laserstein’s artistic development. Emphasis is placed on works from the 1920s and 30s, which mark the peak of her artistic work. “Lotte Laserstein. Face to Face” is the artist’s first solo exhibition in Germany outside of Berlin.

An exhibition organised by the Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, in cooperation with the Berlinische Galerie.

Picture: Lotte Laserstein, Russian Girl, c. 1928, Oil on panel, 32 x 23 cm, Collection of Linda Sutton and Roger Cooper, London, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Supported by Ernst Max von Grunelius Stiftung, Rudolf-August Oetker Stiftung and Friede Springer Stiftung.
With additional support from The City of Frankfurt am Main
Social Media The Städel Museum communicates the exhibition in social media with the hashtag #LotteLaserstein.

Online Ticket

Avoid the queues for admission to the show.

Purchase ticket

Audio Guide

Audio Guide

  • Meret Becker (© Joachim Gern)

Explore the work of an extraordinary artist with the audio guide to the exhibition. The audio commentary takes you on a journey through the Berlin of the 1920s and 1930s.

Available as app for smartphones free of charge or device rental at the ticket desk for 4.50 euros.
Audio tour with information (audio tracks and pictures) on 19 artworks, about 60 minutes.

More

Worth Knowing

Worth Knowing

Style

Laserstein’s paintings stand in close stylistic proximity to the New Objectivity, but they do not quite fit into this art historical category. Although there are similarities to this art movement in terms of subject matter and attitude in the painter’s works, Laserstein’s style of painting is neither objectively undercooled nor socially critical, as is typical of the New Objectivity. Her painting style always remains realistic, with a partially late-Impressionistic, loose brushstroke and a carefully composed pictorial composition.

Overall, the influence of her academic education – to which women had only just begun to gain access – is clearly recognisable in her works, which is why her style can be described as academic realism. Although traditional with regard to technique, her pictures were of great topicality in terms of content.

Motifs

Lotte Laserstein’s favoured subject is the human being in all its many facets, which is why she devoted herself primarily to portraiture. In her portraits, she brilliantly depicts the people of the interwar period, such as in “Girl Lying on Blue” (1931) or “The Mongolian” (1927), whereby her works are characterised by sobriety, modernity and psychological depth. In her oeuvre, there are also motifs that speak of the enthusiasm of the time for technology and sports, although these are much fewer in number.

In her portraits, Laserstein paints types from modern everyday life: athletic women, young girls putting on make-up, a motorcyclist in full gear and fashionably dressed city dwellers. She drafts a type of emancipated urban woman who moves freely and confidently in the public sphere without male accompaniment. This contemporary image of the “New Woman” is of particular interest to her. Portraits of women thus comprise the greater part of her artistic production, and rarely does she paint portraits of men.

Her Model Traute Rose

In addition to herself and professional models at the academy, Laserstein repeatedly portrays her long-time muse and friend Gertrud Rose (née Süssenbach), called Traute, who embodies the type of the “New Woman” as it was downright propagated in the media during the interwar years, and is thus an ideal model. Rose – like Laserstein herself – corresponds to the ideal of the times: an androgynous, athletic, emancipated young lady with bob and loose-fitting clothes.

In contrast to conventional representations of female models by male artists, in which the woman becomes an objectified vis-à-vis of the painter, Laserstein’s paintings testify to the close relationship between the two friends, which was based on trust and equality. Laserstein maintained a close, lifelong friendship with Traute Rose, who remained in Germany, and the two corresponded extensively during the artist’s time in Sweden.

Biographical Details

Lotte Laserstein, born in East Prussia in 1898, grew up in a bourgeois environment. After the premature death of her father, her mother moved with her and her younger sister Käte to their widowed grandmother in Gdansk. She received her first drawing lessons in 1908 from her aunt Elsa Birnbaum, who ran a private painting school. From 1921 to 1927, she attended the Berlin Academy of Fine Arts, where she was one of the first women to complete her master studies. Through her participation in the spring exhibition of the Prussian Academy of Arts in 1928, she received widespread recognition and sold her first work to a public institution, namely the Berlin City Council. The painting “In the Tavern” (1927) was later confiscated as “degenerate art” within the context of National Socialist propaganda.

Since the late 1920s, Laserstein participated regularly in various exhibitions. She soon succeeded in building a reputation, and the arts pages and critics wrote downright eulogistically about her art. In 1928, Laserstein participated in the competition “The Most Beautiful German Portrait of a Woman”, organized by the cosmetics company Elida in cooperation with the Reich Association of Visual Artists. Out of the 365 works submitted, the painting “Russian Girl with Compact”, now in the collection of the Städel Museum, was nominated for the final round and exhibited together with twenty-five works by almost exclusively male artists in the prestigious gallery of Fritz Gurlitt in Berlin, where her first solo exhibition also took place in 1931.

After the seizure of power by the National Socialists, Laserstein’s nascent career ended abruptly. She was dismissed from the board of the Association of Berlin Women Artists and was only able to exhibit in 1935 within the frameworks of the Kulturbund Deutscher Juden (Cultural League of German Jews). The small painting school, which she had run for financial security since 1927, was also forced to close. Political restrictions made her living and working conditions increasingly difficult. An exhibition in the Galerie Moderne in Stockholm in 1937 offered her the opportunity to leave Germany. Although Laserstein remained extremely productive in Swedish exile and made her living through commissioned work, she was unable to recapture her early success, and her work largely disappeared from public perception.

Gallery

  • + More
    Russian Girl with Compact (1928)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Russian Girl with Compact, 1928
    Oil on panel
    31,7 x 41 cm
    Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main Photo: Städel Museum – ARTOTHEK
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Morning Toilette (1930)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Morning Toilette, 1930
    Oil on panel, 99,7 x 65,1 cm
    National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C.
    Gift of the Board of Directors
    Photo: Courtesy of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C.
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Girl Lying on Blue (c. 1931)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Girl Lying on Blue, c. 1931
    Oil on paper, 69 x 93 cm
    Private collection, courtesy of DAS VERBORGENE MUSEUM, Berlin
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Mongolian (c. 1927)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Mongolian, c. 1927
    Oil on panel, 27,1 x 21,8 cm
    Private collection
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Self-Portrait in the Studio Friedrichsruher Straße (c. 1927)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Self-Portrait in the Studio Friedrichsruher Straße, c. 1927
    Oil on canvas, 32 x 42 cm
    On loan from a private collection, Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Boy with Kasper Puppet (1933)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Boy with Kasper Puppet (Wolfgang Karger), 1933
    Oil on panel, 46 x 38 cm
    Städel Museum, Frankfurt
    Photo: Städel Museum – ARTOTHEK
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Catalogue

Catalogue

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue published by Prestel Verlag with 192 pages and 159 colour illustrations. With contributions by Valentina Bay, Alexander Eiling, Anna-Carola Krausse, Kristina Lemke, Annelie Lütgens, Maureen Ogrocki, Kristin Schroeder, Elena Schroll and Philipp von Wehrden. German / English. 39.90 € (museum edition).

To the Online Shop

Learning more

Our museum education staff will guide you through the interesting backgrounds behind the collection and the exhibitions.

To the Individual guided tour

WiFi

We offer all our visitors access to WiFi free of charge. Discover our digital offers for your visit to the Städel!

To Information & Service

Support the Museum Work

Private individuals, companies or foundations – anyone can contribute to the Städel Museum and help continue its history into the future.

To Support

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Lotte
Laserstein

19.9.2018–17.3.2019

Von Angesicht zu Angesicht

Lotte Laserstein machte sich in der pulsierenden Kunstszene der Weimarer Republik einen Namen. Ihre Karriere endete unvermittelt, als sie 1937 gezwungen war, nach Schweden zu emigrieren, wo sie aus dem öffentlichen Blick geriet. Lasersteins Œuvre wird durch diese Ausstellung wieder ins Bewusstsein gerückt.

Ausstellung

Über die Ausstellung

Das Frankfurter Städel Museum präsentiert die Malerin Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993) in einer umfassenden Einzelausstellung. Lasersteins Œuvre gehört zu den großen Wiederentdeckungen der letzten Jahre und zeichnet sich durch ebenso sensibel wie eindringlich gestaltete Porträts aus den späten Jahren der Weimarer Republik aus. Die Schau baut auf den Sammlungsbeständen des Städel Museums auf, das mit den Gemälden „Russisches Mädchen mit Puderdose“ von 1928 und „Junge mit Kasper-Puppe (Wolfgang Karger)“ von 1933 in den vergangenen Jahren wichtige Arbeiten der Künstlerin erwerben konnte. Anhand von rund 40 Gemälden und Zeichnungen nimmt die Ausstellung Lasersteins künstlerische Entwicklung in den Blick. Der Fokus liegt auf ihren Arbeiten der 1920er- und 1930er-Jahre, die den Glanzpunkt ihres Schaffens markieren. „Lotte Laserstein. Von Angesicht zu Angesicht“ ist die erste Einzelpräsentation der Künstlerin in Deutschland außerhalb Berlins.

Eine Ausstellung des Städel Museums, Frankfurt am Main, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Berlinischen Galerie.

Abbildung: Lotte Laserstein, Russisches Mädchen, um 1928, Sammlung Linda Sutton und Roger Cooper, London, Foto: Städel Museum, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Gefördert durch Ernst Max von Grunelius-Stiftung, Rudolf-August Oetker-Stiftung, Friede Springer Stiftung
Mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung Stadt Frankfurt am Main

Social Media Das Städel Museum kommuniziert die Ausstellung in den sozialen Medien mit dem Hashtag #LotteLaserstein.

Online-Ticket

Zum Ausdrucken oder als Smartphone-Ticket.

Online-Ticket kaufen

Führungen

Sichern Sie sich schon jetzt Ihre private Führung.

Führung buchen

„Über Jahre war die große Kunst der Lotte Laserstein vergessen. Nun wird die Malerin endlich wiederentdeckt.“

Die ZEIT, Hanno Rauterberg, 13.09.2018

„Das Frankfurter Städel leistet nun Aufklärungsarbeit über die Verschollene, durch die erste umfassende Einzelausstellung außerhalb Berlins mit rund vierzig Gemälden unter dem sinnigen Titel ‚Von Angesicht zu Angesicht‘.“

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Stefan Trinks, 20.09.2018

„… zahlreiche Entdeckungen, die man in dieser Frankfurter Ausstellung machen kann.“

Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Rudolf Schmitz, 18.09.2018

„Diese Ausstellung im Städel Museum ist eine gute Gelegenheit, eine bemerkenswerte Frau und Künstlerin kennenzulernen [...].“

hr2 Kultur, Tanja Küchle, 19.09.2018
Audioguide

Audioguide

  • Meret Becker (© Joachim Gern)

Entdecken Sie mit dem Audioguide zur Ausstellung das Werk einer außergewöhnlichen Künstlerin. Schauspielerin Meret Becker entführt Sie auf dem Rundgang ins Berlin der 1920er- und 1930er-Jahre.

Erhältlich als kostenlose App für Ihr Smartphone oder zum Ausleihen vor Ort für 4,50 Euro.
Mit Audiotracks und Abbildungen zu 19 Kunstwerken, ca. 60 Minuten.

Mehr zum Audioguide

Film

Film

Wissenswert

Wissenswert

Stil

Die Bilder Lasersteins stehen stilistisch der Neuen Sachlichkeit nah, doch passen sie nicht recht in diese kunsthistorische Kategorie. Im Hinblick auf Sujets und Grundhaltung lassen sich in Lasersteins Arbeiten zwar Anklänge an diese Kunstströmung finden, doch ist ihr Malstil weder objektivierend unterkühlt noch gesellschaftskritisch überzeichnet, wie für die Neue Sachlichkeit typisch. Ihre Malweise verbleibt stets realistisch, mit teilweise spätimpressionistisch lockerem Pinselduktus und einem sorgsam komponierten Bildaufbau.

Insgesamt ist der Einfluss ihrer akademischen Ausbildung – zu der sich Frauen damals gerade erst den Zugang erkämpft hatten – in ihren Werken deutlich erkennbar, weshalb ihr Stil als akademischer Realismus bezeichnet werden kann. Obwohl handwerklich traditionell, waren ihre Bilder inhaltlich von großer Aktualität.

Motive

Lotte Lasersteins favorisiertes Thema ist der Mensch in all seinen Facetten, weshalb sie sich hauptsächlich der Porträtmalerei widmet. In ihren Porträts setzt sie virtuos die Menschen der Zwischenkriegszeit ins Bild, wie etwa in „Liegendes Mädchen auf Blau“ (1931) oder in „Der Mongole“ (1927). Dabei zeichnen Nüchternheit, Modernität wie auch psychologische Tiefe ihre Darstellungen aus. In ihrem Œuvre gibt es ebenso Motive, die von der Technik- und Sportbegeisterung der Zeit künden, doch sind diese zahlenmäßig weit weniger bedeutend.
In ihren Bildnissen malt Laserstein Typen des modernen Alltags: sportive Frauen, sich schminkende junge Mädchen, einen Motorradfahrer in voller Montur und modisch gekleidete Großstädterinnen. Mit ihren modisch gekleideten Protagonistinnen entwirft sie den Typus der emanzipierten Städterin, die sich ohne männliche Begleitung frei und selbstbewusst im öffentlichen Raum bewegt. Dieses zeitgenössische Bild der sogenannten „Neuen Frau“ ist von besonderem Interesse für sie. So machen Frauenporträts auch den größten Teil ihrer Kunst aus, selten fertigt sie Bildnisse von Männern an.

Ihr Modell Traute Rose

Neben den professionellen Modellen an der Akademie und sich selbst porträtiert Laserstein immer wieder ihre langjährige Muse und Freundin Gertrud Rose (geb. Süssenbach), genannt Traute. Diese verkörpert den Typus der „Neuen Frau“, wie er in den Zwischenkriegsjahren in den Medien geradezu propagiert wurde, und ist damit ein ideales Modell. Rose entspricht – genau wie Laserstein selbst – dem Ideal der Zeit: eine androgyne, sportliche, emanzipierte junge Dame mit Bubikopf und locker sitzender Kleidung.

In Abgrenzung zu herkömmlichen Darstellungen weiblicher Modelle durch männliche Künstler, in denen die Frau zum objektivierten Gegenüber des Malers wird, zeugen die Bilder Lasersteins von der gleichberechtigten und vertrauten Beziehung zwischen den beiden Freundinnen. Mit Traute Rose, die in Deutschland blieb, verband Laserstein zeitlebens eine tiefe Freundschaft und die beiden führten auch während ihrer Zeit in Schweden eine umfangreiche Korrespondenz.

Biografisches

Die 1898 in Ostpreußen geborene Lotte Laserstein wuchs in bürgerlichen Verhältnissen auf. Zwischen 1921 und 1927 besuchte sie die Berliner Hochschule für die Bildenden Künste, wo sie als eine der ersten Frauen ihr Meisterstudium abschloss. Durch ihre Beteiligung an der Frühjahrsausstellung der Preußischen Akademie der Künste 1928 erlangte sie große Aufmerksamkeit und verkaufte ihr erstes Werk an eine öffentliche Einrichtung, den Magistrat der Stadt Berlin. Das Gemälde „Im Gasthaus“ (1927) wurde später im Rahmen der nationalsozialistischen Propaganda als „entartete Kunst“ beschlagnahmt.

Seit dem Ende der 1920er-Jahre nahm Laserstein regelmäßig an Ausstellungen teil. Es gelang ihr bald, sich einen Ruf aufzubauen und Feuilletons und Kritiker fanden geradezu hymnische Worte für ihre Kunst. 1928 beteiligte sich Laserstein an dem Wettbewerb „Das schönste deutsche Frauenporträt“, der von der Kosmetikfirma Elida zusammen mit dem Reichsverband bildender Künstler ausgeschrieben wurde. Aus den 365 eingereichten Werken wurde das heute in der Städel Sammlung befindliche Gemälde „Russisches Mädchen mit Puderdose“ für die Endrunde nominiert und zusammen mit 25 Arbeiten von fast ausschließlich männlichen Künstlern in der angesehenen Berliner Galerie von Fritz Gurlitt gezeigt. Dort fand 1931 auch ihre erste Einzelausstellung statt.

Nach der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten endete Lasersteins einsetzende Karriere unvermittelt. Sie wurde aus dem Vorstand des Vereins Berliner Künstlerinnen entlassen und konnte ab 1935 lediglich im Rahmen des jüdischen Kulturbundes in Deutschland ausstellen. Auch die kleine Malschule, welche sie zur finanziellen Absicherung seit 1927 betrieb, musste geschlossen werden. Die politischen Restriktionen erschwerten ihre Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen zunehmend. Eine Ausstellung in der Stockholmer Galerie Moderne bot ihr 1937 die Möglichkeit, Deutschland zu verlassen. Obwohl Laserstein im schwedischen Exil weiterhin äußerst produktiv war und ihren Lebensunterhalt durch Auftragsarbeiten verdiente, gelang es ihr nicht, an ihre frühen Erfolge anzuknüpfen. Ihr Werk verschwand weitgehend aus der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung.

Mehr Hintergrundberichte und vertieftes Wissen zu „Lotte Laserstein“ gibt es auf dem Städel Blog.

Zum Städel Blog

Galerie

Galerie

  • + Mehr
    Russisches Mädchen mit Puderdose (1928)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898-1993)

    Russisches Mädchen mit Puderdose, 1928
    Öl auf Holz
    31,7 x 40 cm
    Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Morgentoilette (1930)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Morgentoilette, 1930
    Öl auf Holz, 99,7 × 65,1 cm
    National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C., Gift of the Board of Directors
    Foto: Lee Stalsworth
    © VG Bild Kunst Bonn, 2018

  • + Mehr
    Liegendes Mädchen auf Blau (um 1931)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Liegendes Mädchen auf Blau, um 1931
    Öl auf Papier, 69 × 93 cm
    Privatbesitz, Courtesy DAS VERBORGENE MUSEUM, Berlin
    Foto: Privatbesitz, Courtesy DAS VERBORGENE MUSEUM, Berlin
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Mongole (um 1927)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Mongole, um 1927
    Öl auf Holz
    27,1 x 21,8 cm
    Privatbesitz
    Foto: Lotte-Laserstein-Archiv Krausse, Berlin
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Selbstporträt im Atelier Friedrichsruher Straße (um 1927)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898-1993)

    Selbstporträt im Atelier Friedrichsruher Straße, um 1927
    Öl auf Leinwand, 32 x 42 cm
    Leihgabe aus Privatbesitz, Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
    Foto: Kai-Annett Becker / Berlinische Galerie
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Junge mit Kasper-Puppe (1933)

    Lotte Laserstein (1898–1993)

    Junge mit Kasper-Puppe (Wolfgang Karger), 1933
    Öl auf Holz, 46 x 38 cm
    Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Katalog

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Prestel Verlag mit 192 Seiten und 159 Farbabbildungen. Mit Beiträgen von Valentina Bay, Alexander Eiling, Anna-Carola Krausse, Kristina Lemke, Annelie Lütgens, Maureen Ogrocki, Kristin Schroeder, Elena Schroll und Philipp von Wehrden. Deutsche / englische Ausgabe, 39,90 Euro (Museumsausgabe).

Zum Online-Shop

Blog

Aus dem Städel Blog

Programm

Programm

Überblicksführungen

Fr, 19.00 Uhr & So, 14.00 Uhr
Zusatztermine: Mi 3.10., Di 25.12., Mi 26.12., Di 1.1., jeweils 12.00 Uhr

Tickets für die Überblicksführungen sind ab zwei Stunden vor Führungsbeginn an der Museumskasse erhältlich.
Tickets vor Ort: 5 Euro zzgl. Eintritt

Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich, die Teilnehmerzahl ist begrenzt.

Kostenloses Wifi im Städel

Als Service bieten wir allen Besuchern die Nutzung unseres WiFis an. Bereichern Sie Ihren Museumsbesuch mit unserem digitalen Vermittlungsangebot.

Zu Informationen & Service

Immer informiert

Aktuelle Ausstellungen, digitale Angebote und Sonderveranstaltungen kompakt. Mit unserem E-Mail-Newsletter kommen die neuesten Informationen direkt zu Ihnen.

Zum Newsletter

Fragen & Antworten

Sie haben Fragen rund um Ihren Besuch im Städel Museum? Wir haben die wichtigsten Antworten für Sie zusammengestellt.

Mehr erfahren

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.