Manuel
Franke

6/20–9/23/2018

Colormaster F

A gesture, as simple and light as it is massive and heavy: almost 50 metres of strongly coloured and sharply rising corrugated sheeting extending between the Städel Museum and the Städel School. An orange and pink hybrid between industrial facade and museum, between painting and sculpture, between halfpipe and bench, hovering over the meadow while being anchored in a hefty foundation of sky blue coloured concrete.

Exhibition

About the exhibition

Within the framework of the series “In the Städel Garden”, the Düsseldorf artist Manuel Franke (b. 1964) has developed an artwork of monumental dimensions – 50 metres long and 2.5 metres high – for the garden of the Städel Museum. From 20 June to 23 September, this expansive gesture will lend the Städel Garden a new and very palpable boundary between the museum and the Städelschule. Half sculpture, half painting, Colormaster F will respond to the lawn – a green surface bounded by buildings on three sides – with a curved membrane in vivid monochrome colours. An insurmountable obstacle, Franke’s object will on the one hand block the view, while on the other hand giving visitors the opportunity to experience the hill at the garden’s centre in a whole new way. Colormaster F will not only change the garden in terms of its spatial constellation, but also create a further, additional space, both open and closed, inside it. The artwork will moreover invite visitors to play, explore and pass time, thus offering an entirely new and interactive experience of the familiar Städel Garden all summer long.

Illustration: Manuel Franke, Colormaster F, 2018, in the Garden of the Städel Museum, Frankfurt, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Social Media The Städel Museum is communicating the exhibition in the social media with the hashtags #ManuelFranke and #StaedelGarten.
Support The work is being realized with support from Dyckerhoff Beton.

Worth Knowing

Worth Knowing

Colormaster F

The artist adopted the word “Colormaster” from the name of a colour temperature metre of the kind employed in professional photo technology to measure colour casts in the pre-digital age. Franke has used it repeatedly; in this case the F stands for the city of Frankfurt. By choosing this title, the artist is alluding to the special significance colour holds in his work. “With colour, an object changes its identity.” “Colormaster F” doesn’t dictate a certain vantage point to its visitors. On the contrary, it invites them to interact with it and explore the various ways of seeing it offers, while at the same time blocking other views. What is more, “Colormaster F” can never be perceived in its entirety, but always consists of two irreconcilable visual experiences, depending on whether you’re sitting on the hill above the Garden Halls or approaching the museum and the artwork from the Dürerstrasse/city side. “Colormaster F” makes the architecture of the Städel Garden and the Städel Museum an integral element of itself by responding and relating to it.

A conspicuous aspect of Franke’s intervention is how it takes Adolf Luther’s “Integration Standing Lenses” (1990) into account. On permanent loan from the Adolf-Luther-Stiftung since 2013, this work is located partially on the lawn and partially on the path leading through the Städel Garden. Rather than interrupting its path from one edge of the lawn to the other, the sculpture “Colormaster F” will integrate the steles. Franke has repeatedly found ways of embedding other artworks in his own – in 2006, for instance, he integrated James Lee Byars’s work “The Tear” (1986) on the exterior wall of the Düsseldorf Kunsthalle.

Technique and production

For “Colormaster F” Manuel Franke is using white cement and pigment, both contributed by the Dyckerhoff company, a concrete manufacturer in Wiesbaden. Thanks to the use of blue-pigmented white cement, the concrete will shed its commonplace character and take on vivid colour. The artist is also employing industrially cambered corrugated metal sheet and high-gloss paint. The sine wave otherwise encountered primarily in agriculture or factory buildings will shine in bright pink on one side of “Colormaster F” and vibrant orange on the other, and thus to an extent be relieved of its unsensual, industrial quality. The artist is having the sheet metal painted with standardized colours, which will lend the surface the look of a car body.

Manuel Franke

Manuel Franke studied with, among others, Tony Cragg and Irmin Kamp at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf and Daniel Buren and Pontus Holten at the Institut des hautes études en arts plastiques in Paris. In his artistic practice he often undertakes interventions in space that oscillate between sculpture, installation and painting. His works are site-specific in that he consistently factors in the architectural and urban structures of the surrounding environment as well as the political, historical and social contexts. A recent work of Franke’s is Achat, a large-scale project for an underground station on the Wehrhahn line in Düsseldorf, where he used hundreds of glass panels to create a walk-in colour space with a vortex-like effect.

Franke has exhibited at such venues as the Kunstraum Düsseldorf, the Artspace Sydney and the Kunstverein Nürnberg and participated in group shows at the Kunstverein Mönchengladbach, the Villa Massimo in Rome and the Kunstmuseum Bonn. His interventions, which are usually temporary, often address the act of sight itself by obstructing views while at the same time offering new and unaccustomed ways of seeing. Characteristic features of his expansive, space-transforming installations are the painterly treatment of the surfaces and the use of bright colours.

Gallery

  • + More
    Manuel Franke: Colormaster F (2018)

    Manuel Franke (b. 1964)

    Colormaster F, 2018
    in the Garden of the Städel Museum, Frankfurt
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Manuel Franke, Project sketch for Colormaster F (2018)

    Manuel Franke (b. 1964)

    Project sketch for Colormaster F, 2018
    In the Garden of the Städel Museum, Frankfurt
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + More
    Manuel Franke: Colormaster F (2018)

    Manuel Franke (b. 1964)

    Colormaster F, 2018
    in the Garden of the Städel Museum, Frankfurt
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Programme

Programme

Artists’ conversation

Tuesday, 24 July, 6.00 pm
Daniel Buren and Manuel Franke in conversation (in English)

Introduction to the work

Thursday, 6 September, 6.30 pm
Introduction to the work by the artist Manuel Franke (in German)

Learning more

Our museum education staff will guide you through the interesting backgrounds behind the collection and the exhibitions.

To the Individual guided tour

WiFi

We offer all our visitors access to WiFi free of charge. Discover our digital offers for your visit to the Städel!

To Information & Service

Support the Museum Work

Private individuals, companies or foundations – anyone can contribute to the Städel Museum and help continue its history into the future.

To Support

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Manuel
Franke

20.6.–23.9.2018

Colormaster F

Eine Geste, so einfach und leicht wie massiv und schwer: Fast 50 Meter starkfarbiges und steil nach oben gebogenes Wellblech spannen sich zwischen Städel Museum und Städelschule. Der orange- und rosafarbene Zwitter aus Industriefassade und Museum, aus Malerei und Skulptur, aus Halfpipe und Sitzbank schwebt über der Wiese des Städel Gartens, eingespannt in himmelblau eingefärbten Beton.

Ausstellung

Über die Ausstellung

Im Rahmen der Reihe „Im Städel Garten“ hat der Düsseldorfer Künstler Manuel Franke (geb. 1964) ein monumentales, 50 Meter langes und 2,5 Meter hohes Kunstwerk für den Garten des Städel Museums entwickelt. Vom 20. Juni bis 23. September erhält der Städel Garten zwischen Museum und Städelschule durch diese raumgreifende Geste eine neue, körperlich erfahrbare Begrenzung. Halb Skulptur, halb Malerei, setzt „Colormaster F“ der auf drei Seiten von Gebäuden begrenzten Rasenfläche eine gebogene Membran in leuchtenden monochromen Farben entgegen. Als unüberwindliches Hindernis versperrt Frankes Objekt einerseits den gewohnten Blick, macht den Rasenhügel andererseits jedoch in ganz neuer Weise erfahrbar. „Colormaster F“ verändert nicht nur den Garten in seiner räumlichen Konstellation, sondern schafft auch einen weiteren, zusätzlichen Raum innerhalb des Gartens, der gleichermaßen offen wie abgeschlossen ist. Darüber hinaus lädt das Kunstwerk die Besucher zum Spielen, Erkunden und Verweilen ein und ermöglicht somit einen Sommer lang eine völlig neue und interaktive Erfahrung des vertrauten Städel Gartens.

Der Besuch des Städel Gartens ist kostenfrei.

Abbildung: Manuel Franke, Colormaster F, 2018, im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Unterstützung Die Realisierung der Arbeit wurde durch Dyckerhoff Beton unterstützt.

Social Media Das Städel Museum kommuniziert die Ausstellung in den sozialen Medien unter den Hashtags #ManuelFranke und #StaedelGarten.

Städel Blog

Hintergrundberichte und vertieftes Wissen: Auf dem Städel Blog noch mehr über „Manuel Franke“ erfahren.

Hier weiterlesen

„Eine neue Raumerfahrung“

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Rhein-Main-Zeitung, Michael Hierholzer, 20. Juni 2018

„Der Bildhauer Manuel Franke hat eine 50 Meter lange Wellblech-Installation in den Garten des Frankfurter Städelmuseums gebaut: ein selbstbewusster und zugleich behutsamer Eingriff.“

Frankfurter Neue Presse, Dierk Wolters, 20. Juni 2018
Wissenswert

Wissenswert

Colormaster F

Der Name „Colormaster“ geht auf den Namen eines Farbtemperaturmessers zurück, wie er vor der digitalen Zeit in der professionellen Fototechnik zum Messen von Farbstichen eingesetzt wurde. Der Titel wurde von Franke wiederholt verwendet, wobei das F für die Stadt Frankfurt steht. Mit der Wahl des Titels verweist der Künstler auf die besondere Bedeutung, die Farbe in seinem Werk einnimmt – „mit der Farbe wechselt ein Objekt seine Identität“. „Colormaster F“ ist nicht auf eine einzige Betrachterperspektive festgelegt, sondern lädt vielmehr dazu ein, mit der Skulptur zu interagieren und die verschiedenen Sehweisen zu erkunden, die durch sie ermöglicht und gleichermaßen versperrt werden. Zudem kann „Colormaster F“ nie in seiner Gänze erfasst werden, sondern besteht immer aus zwei unvereinbaren Ansichten, je nachdem, ob man sich auf dem Hügel der Gartenhallen ausruht oder sich dem Museum und dem Kunstwerk von der Dürerstraße/Stadtseite nähert. Genauso wird auch die Architektur des Städel Gartens sowie des Städel Museums zum integralen Bestandteil von „Colormaster F“, indem sich die Skulptur auf ihr architektonisches Gegenüber bezieht.

Auffällig bei Frankes Intervention sind die Aussparungen im Bereich von Adolf Luthers „Integration Stehlinsen“ (1990). Seit 2013 befindet sich diese Dauerleihgabe der Adolf-Luther-Stiftung halb auf der Wiese, halb auf der Wegfläche des Städel Gartens. Die Skulptur „Colormaster F“ unterbricht ihren Weg von Rasenkante zu Rasenkante nicht, bezieht jedoch die Stelen mit ein. Wiederholt hat Franke das Einschließen anderer Kunstwerke zum Thema gemacht – so integrierte er 2006 James Lee Byars’ Arbeit „Die Träne“ (1986) an der Außenmauer der Düsseldorfer Kunsthalle.

Technik und Herstellung

Für „Colormaster F“ verwendet Manuel Franke Weißzement und Pigment; beides wird dem Künstler durch den Betonhersteller Dyckerhoff aus Wiesbaden bereitgestellt. Der gewöhnliche Charakter des Betons wird durch Benutzung von blaupigmentiertem Weißzement leuchtend aufgebrochen. Außerdem werden industriell bombiertes Wellblech und Hochglanzlack eingesetzt. Die Sinuswelle, die sonst vorrangig in der Landwirtschaft oder bei Fabrikgebäuden genutzt wird, erstrahlt in „Colormaster F“ auf der einen Seite in hellem Rosa und auf der anderen in leuchtendem Orange und verliert somit ein Stück weit ihren industriellen, unsinnlichen Charakter. Der Künstler ließ das Blech mit genormten Farben lackieren, wodurch die Oberfläche einer Autokarosserie gleicht.

Manuel Franke

Manuel Franke studierte unter anderem bei Tony Cragg an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf sowie bei Daniel Buren und Pontus Hulten am Institut des hautes études en arts plastiques in Paris. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis nimmt er häufig Interventionen im Raum vor, die zwischen Skulptur, Installation und Bild changieren. Dabei arbeitet er stets ortsbezogen, indem er die architektonischen und urbanen Strukturen der Umgebung ebenso in sein Werk einbezieht wie den politischen, historischen und sozialen Kontext. Zuletzt gestaltete Franke eine U-Bahn-Station der Düsseldorfer Wehrhahnlinie mit seinem großflächigen Projekt „Achat“, für das er mit Hunderten von Glastafeln einen begehbaren Farbraum entstehen ließ, der eine sogartige Wirkung entfaltet.

Franke hat unter anderem im Kunstraum Düsseldorf, im Artspace Sydney sowie im Kunstverein Nürnberg ausgestellt und war im Kunstverein Mönchengladbach, in der Villa Massimo Rom und im Kunstmuseum Bonn in Gruppenausstellungen vertreten. Seine zumeist temporären Eingriffe thematisieren oft das Sehen selbst, da sie Dinge verstellen oder verdecken und dabei gleichzeitig neue und ungewohnte Sehweisen eröffnen. Charakteristisch für seine raumgreifenden und den Raum transformierenden Installationen sind die malerische Oberflächenbehandlung und eine besondere Farbigkeit.

Galerie

Galerie

  • + Mehr
    Manuel Franke: Colormaster F, 2018, im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt

    Manuel Franke (geb. 1964)

    Colormaster F, 2018
    im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt am Main
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Manuel Franke: Projektskizze zu Colormaster F, 2018, im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt

    Manuel Franke (geb. 1964)

    Projektskizze zu Colormaster F, 2018
    im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt am Main
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

  • + Mehr
    Manuel Franke: Colormaster F, 2018, im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt

    Manuel Franke (geb. 1964)

    Colormaster F, 2018
    im Garten des Städel Museums, Frankfurt am Main
    © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Programm

Programm

Kostenloses Wifi im Städel

Als Service bieten wir allen Besuchern die Nutzung unseres WiFis an. Bereichern Sie Ihren Museumsbesuch mit unserem digitalen Vermittlungsangebot.

Zu Informationen & Service

Immer informiert

Aktuelle Ausstellungen, digitale Angebote und Sonderveranstaltungen kompakt. Mit unserem E-Mail-Newsletter kommen die neuesten Informationen direkt zu Ihnen.

Zum Newsletter

Fragen & Antworten

Sie haben Fragen rund um Ihren Besuch im Städel Museum? Wir haben die wichtigsten Antworten für Sie zusammengestellt.

Mehr erfahren

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.