After Rubens

The Graduate Exhibition of the Städelschule 2018

11 July to 5 August 2018

The graduate exhibition of the Academy of Fine Arts–Städelschule returned to the Städel Museum after ten years. Thirty-one artists presented works in various media and disciplines.

The physical and historical proximity between both institutions is present not only in the exhibition space, the Peichlbau of the Städel Museum, but also in the vision of founder, Johann Friedrich Städel: the academy and the museum returned to his founding vision of the display and teaching of fine art closely interlinked.

The title “After Rubens” refered to the recent Rubens exhibition, which has been presented in the same wing of the Städel Museum. The graduates react to the extant museum architecture with an ambivalent attitude. Where Baroque masterpieces once hung, the present state of art was shown. After Rubens, something new begins: after the Städel – before the exit.

With Viviana Abelson, Rosa Aiello, Moriah Askenaizer, Jonas Brinker, Liesel Burisch, Stefan Cantante, Zoltan Ará Elahi, Janusch Ertler, Bertrand Flanet, Cecilia Gerson, Simon Glaser, Guy Gormley, Nancy Halt, J. M. Heard, Ryan Karlsson, Vera Karlsson, Nimrod Karmi, Claudia Lemke, Larissa Mazbouh, Curtis McLean, Aileen Murphy, Iulia Nistor, Joon Yeon Park, Federica Partinico, Laxlan Petras, John Ryaner, Sydney Schrader, Laura Schusinski, Babette Semmer, VMT, Bob van der Wal, Mikhail Wassmer, Seyoung Yoon.

The exhibition featured works by the graduates from the classes of Monika Baer, Peter Fischli, Douglas Gordon, Judith Hopf, Michael Krebber, Christa Näher, Laure Prouvost, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Amy Sillman and Haegue Yang.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

After Rubens

Absolventenausstellung der Städelschule 2018

11. Juli bis 5. August 2018

Die Absolventenausstellung der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule ist nach zehn Jahren in das Städel Museum zurückgekehrt. 31 Künstlerinnen und Künstler präsentierten Arbeiten in verschiedenen Medien und Disziplinen.

Die physische und historische Nähe der beiden Institutionen ist nicht nur im Ausstellungsraum, dem Peichlbau des Städel Museums, sondern auch in der Vision ihres Gründers Johann Friedrich Städel angelegt: Hochschule und Museum gehen auf eine Stiftung zurück, in welcher die Präsentation und Lehre von bildender Kunst bereits eine eng verzahnte Rolle spielten.

Der Titel „After Rubens“ verweist auf die Rubens-Ausstellung, die zuvor im selben Flügel des Städel Museums präsentiert wurde. Das museale Display blieb bestehen, die Absolventinnen und Absolventen stellten sich diesem mit ambivalenter Haltung. Wo barocke Meisterwerke hingen, wurde Gegenwartskunst gezeigt. Nach Rubens begann Neues: nach dem Städel – vor dem Abmarsch.

Mit Viviana Abelson, Rosa Aiello, Moriah Askenaizer, Jonas Brinker, Liesel Burisch, Stefan Cantante, Zoltan Ará Elahi, Janusch Ertler, Bertrand Flanet, Cecilia Gerson, Simon Glaser, Guy Gormley, Nancy Halt, J. M. Heard, Ryan Karlsson, Vera Karlsson, Nimrod Karmi, Claudia Lemke, Larissa Mazbouh, Curtis McLean, Aileen Murphy, Iulia Nistor, Joon Yeon Park, Federica Partinico, Laxlan Petras, John Ryaner, Sydney Schrader, Laura Schusinski, Babette Semmer, VMT, Bob van der Wal, Mikhail Wassmer, Seyoung Yoon.

Die Ausstellung zeigte Werke von Absolventinnen und Absolventen aus den Klassen von Monika Baer, Peter Fischli, Douglas Gordon, Judith Hopf, Michael Krebber, Christa Näher, Laure Prouvost, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Amy Sillman und Haegue Yang.

Der Absolventenpreis 2018 ging an J.M. Heard mit seiner audiovisuellen Installation „Paintings for the blind and dyslexic“ (2015–2018).

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.