Matisse – Bonnard

‘Long Live Painting!’

13 September 2017 to 14 January 2018

The Frankfurt museum presented two outstanding artists – Henri Matisse (1869–1954) and Pierre Bonnard (1867–1947) – in an exhibition that was the first in Germany to bring these key modern masters together. At the heart of the comprehensive presentation was the friendship between the two French artists which lasted for over forty years. Both painters shared a preference for the same range of subjects: interiors, still lifes, landscapes and the female nude. With a selection of more than a 120 paintings, sculptures, drawings and prints, the exhibition opened a dialogue between Matisse and Bonnard and offered new perspectives on the development of the European avant-garde from the beginning of the twentieth century to the end of the Second World War.

After the successful conclusion of the extensive loan negotiations, the Städel was looking forward to presenting outstanding works from internationally renowned collections, among them the Art Institute of Chicago, the Tate Modern in London, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Centre Pompidou and the Musée d’Orsay in Paris, the State Hermitage in Saint Petersburg and the National Gallery of Art in Washington. The selection of works was complemented by a substantial group of photographs by Henri Cartier-Bresson who visited the artists on the French Riviera in 1944. A particular highlight of the exhibition were the two paintings the artists owned by one another, which were shown together for the first time.

Another highlight was Matisse’s “Large Reclining Nude” of 1935 – a key work which has not been on display in Germany for more than thirty years and which has been on loan from the Baltimore Museum of Art. This iconic nude was a milestone on the artist’s journey towards an aesthetic of highly simplified forms and shows his studio assistant and last important model, Lydia Delectorskaya. It is very likely that the painting was inspired by Bonnard’s Reclining Nude against a White and Blue Plaid, which it closely resembles in composition, and which has been in the collection of the Städel Museum since 1988. The opportunity to show these two paintings in dialogue was key to the planning of this project.

Curator: Dr. Felix Krämer (Head of Modern Art, Städel Museum)
Co-Curator: Dr. Daniel Zamani (Research Associate, Modern Art, Städel Museum)
Supported by: Société Générale, Städelscher Museums-Verein e.V.
With additional support from: Georg und Franziska Speyer’schen Hochschulstiftung
Media partners: Süddeutsche Zeitung, Media Frankfurt, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, ARTE, WirtschaftsWoche, Verkehrsgesellschaft Frankfurt Main
Cultural partner: hr2-kultur

The multi-media preparation course

Find out everything worth knowing about the exhibition!

To the Digitorial

Film

Subtitles

For subtitles please click the captions icon at the bottom of the video.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Matisse – Bonnard

„Es lebe die Malerei!“

13. September 2017 bis 14. Januar 2018

Das Städel Museum zeigte zwei herausragende Protagonisten der Klassischen Moderne erstmals gemeinsam in Deutschland: Henri Matisse (1869–1954) und Pierre Bonnard (1867–1947). Im Mittelpunkt der groß angelegten Ausstellung stand die über 40 Jahre andauernde Künstlerfreundschaft der beiden französischen Maler. Beide setzten sich intensiv mit den gleichen künstlerischen Sujets auseinander: Interieur, Stillleben, Landschaft und besonders auch dem weiblichen Akt. Anhand von rund 120 Gemälden, Plastiken, Zeichnungen und Grafiken eröffnete die Schau einen Dialog zwischen Matisse und Bonnard und bot damit neue Perspektiven auf die Entwicklung der europäischen Avantgarde vom Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der umfangreichen Leihverhandlungen erwartete das Städel hochkarätige Exponate aus international bedeutenden Sammlungen, darunter das Art Institute of Chicago, die Tate Modern in London, das Museum of Modern Art in New York, das Centre Pompidou und das Musée d’Orsay in Paris, die Eremitage in Sankt Petersburg sowie die National Gallery of Art in Washington. Bereichert wurde die Werkauswahl durch zahlreiche Fotografien von Henri Cartier-Bresson, der die Künstler 1944 an der französischen Riviera besuchte. Ein besonderer Höhepunkt der Ausstellung waren die beiden Bilder, die die Künstler jeweils von einander besaßen und die hier zum ersten Mal gemeinsam gezeigt wurden.

Ein weiteres Highlight der Werkschau war Matisse’ 1935 entstandenes Hauptwerk „Großer liegender Akt“, das zum ersten Mal seit über 30 Jahren wieder in Deutschland zu sehen war und vom Baltimore Museum of Art geliehen wurde. Der längst zur Ikone gewordene Akt war ein Meilenstein auf dem Weg des Künstlers zu einer Ästhetik stark reduzierter Formen und stellt seine Atelierassistentin und zugleich sein letztes bedeutendes Modell, Lydia Delectorskaya, dar. Gut möglich, dass das Gemälde von Bonnards kompositorisch eng verwandtem Werk „Liegender Akt auf weißblau kariertem Grund“ inspiriert wurde, welches sich seit 1988 in der Sammlung des Städel Museums befindet. Die Gegenüberstellung dieser beiden Bilder war ein wichtiger Impuls zur Vorbereitung der Ausstellung.

Kurator: Dr. Felix Krämer (Sammlungsleiter Kunst der Moderne, Städel Museum)
Ko-Kurator: Dr. Daniel Zamani (Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Kunst der Moderne, Städel Museum)
Gefördert durch: Société Générale, Städelscher Museums-Verein e.V.
Mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung von: Georg und Franziska Speyer’sche Hochschulstiftung
Medienpartner: Süddeutsche Zeitung, Media Frankfurt, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, ARTE, WirtschaftsWoche, Verkehrsgesellschaft Frankfurt Main
Kulturpartner: hr2-kultur

Ausstellung verpasst?

Erfahren Sie auch nach dem Ende der Ausstellung alles Wissenswerte zu „Matisse – Bonnard“ mit dem multimedialen Digitorial!

Zum Digitorial

Städel Blog

Interviews, Hintergrundberichte und vertieftes Wissen: Auf dem Städel Blog noch mehr über „Matisse – Bonnard“ erfahren.

Hier weiterlesen

Film

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.